Museum Schools at a Glance

As of 2023, there are over 50 museum model schools in the United States in grades PK-12. Museum schools are found in 15 states, coast to coast, in both urban and suburban areas. The types of schools vary from charter, magnet, traditional public, theme, or private schools.

  • Free/Reduced Lunch range: 4% – 98.8%
  • White Students range: 5% – 80%
  • Students with Disabilities range: 4% – 32%
  • Students with Disabilities average: 13%
  • English Learners range:1% – 55%
Find a Museum School

Arkansas

Arkansas Arts Academy artsk12.org 1110 W. Poplar Street, Ste. A Rogers, Arkansas 72756 479-877-1795

California

The Webb Schools – CA webb.org/museum 1175 West Baseline Rd Claremont, CA 91711 909-626-3587
Arroyo Seco Museum Science Magnet arroyoseco-lausd-ca.schoolloop.com 4805 Sycamore Ter Los Angeles, CA 90042 323-254-5141
Dr. Theodore T. Alexander, Jr. Science Center School alexanderes-lausd-ca.schoolloop.com 3737 South Figueroa St. Los Angeles, CA 90007 213-746-1995
Chrysalis Charter School chrysalischarter.org P.O. Box 709 Palo Cedro, CA 96073 530-547-9726
The Museum School, San Diego museumschool.org 211 Maple Street San Diego, CA 92103 619-236-8712

Connecticut

CREC Museum Academy ma.crecschools.org 11 Turkey Hills Road Bloomfield CT, 06002 860-231-7800
Interdistrict Discovery Magnet School bridgeportedu.net/Discovery 4510 Park Avenue Bridgeport, CT 06604 203-275-1801
Fred D. Wish School Museum School hartfordschools.org 350 Barbour Street Hartford, CT 06120 860-695-5601
L.W. Beecher Museum School of Arts and Sciences Interdistric Magnet beechermuseummagnet.org 100 Jewell Street New Haven, CT 06515 203-691-3800

Florida

Ortega Elementary Museum Magnet School duvalschools.org/ortega 4010 Baltic St Jacksonville, FL 32210 904-381-7460
Palm Beach Maritime Academy palmbeachmaritimeacademy.org 1518 Lantana Road Lantana, FL 33462 561-547-3775
Miami Children’s Museum Charter School .mcmcharter.com 980 McArthur Causeway Miami, FL 33132 305-329-3758
Shenandoah Middle School Museums Magnet shenandoahmiddle.com 1950 S.W. 19 Street Miami, FL 33145 305-856-8282
Southside Elementary Museums Magnet School southsideowls.org 45 SW 13th St, 33130 Miami, FL 33130 305-371-3311

Georgia

The Museum School, Avondale Estates themuseumschool.org 923 Forrest Blvd Decatur, GA 30030 404-289-0320

Louisiana

Langston Hughes Academy firstlineschools.org 3519 Trafalgar St New Orleans, LA 70119 504-373-6251

Michigan

The Henry Ford Academy of Manufacturing Arts and Sciences hfa-dearborn.org 20900 Oakwood Blvd Dearborn, MI 48121 313-982-6200
Grand Rapids Public Museum Middle School grps.org/museum-middle 272 Pearl Street NW Grand Rapids, MI 49504 616-819-3600
Grand Rapids Public Museum High School grps.org/museum-high 54 Jefferson Ave. SE Grand Rapids, MI 49503 616-819-2000

Minnesota

Farnsworth Aerospace preK-4 farnsworth.spps.org 1290 Arcade St St. Paul, MN 55106 651-293-8675
Farnsworth Aerospace 5-8 farnsworth.spps.org 1000 Walsh St. St. Paul, MN 55106 651-293-8880

Missouri

Maplewood Richmond Heights Elementary mrhschools.net 7314 Glades Ave. Richmond Heights, MO 63117 314-644-4403

North Carolina

Y.E. Smith Elementary Museum School dpsnc.net 2410 E. Main St Durham, NC 27703 919-560-3900
Brooks Elementary brookses.wcpss.net 700 Northbrook Dr Raleigh, NC 27609 919-881-1350
Moore Square Museum Magnet Middle School wcpss.net/mooresquarems 301 South Person Street Raleigh NC 27601 919-664-5737
Exploris School: Elementary Campus exploris.org 17 S. Swain St. Raliegh, NC 27601 919-715-0333
Exploris School: Middle School Campus exploris.org 401 Hillsborough Street Raleigh, NC 27603 919-715-3690

New York

Dr. Charles Drew Science Magnet, Museum Site PS 59 .buffaloschools.org/PS59 1 Martin Luther King Jr. Par Buffalo, NY 14211 716-816-3370
Manhattan School for Children, P.S. 333 ps333.org 154 West 93rd Street New York, NY 10025
PS 191 (Museum Magnet School for Inquiry, Innovation, and Imagination) museummagnet.com 210 West 61 Street New York, NY 10023 212-757-4343
NYC Museum School #414 nycmuseumschool.org 333 W 17th St Manhattan, NY 10011 212-675-6206
Genesee Community Charter School at the Rochester Museum gccschool.org 657 East Ave Rochester, NY 14607 585-697-1960

Ohio

Silverton Paideia Academy silverton.cps-k12.org 7451 Montgomery Road Cincinnat, OH 45236 513-363-5400

Pennsylvania

Science Leadership Academy scienceleadership.org 1482 Green St. Philadelphia, PA 19130 215-400-7830

Tennessee

Normal Park Museum Magnet Elementary School normalpark.com 1009 Mississippi Ave Chattanooga, TN 37405 423-209-5900
Normal Park Museum Magnet Upper School .normalpark.com 1219 West Mississippi Ave Chattanooga, TN 37405 423-498-6880
John Early Museum Magnet Middle School schools.mnps.org 1000 Cass Street Nashville, TN 37208 615-291-6369
Robert Churchwell Museum Magnet Elementary School schools.mnps.org 1625 Dr. D. B. Todd Jr. Blvd. Nashville, TN 37208 615-687-4024

Texas

Uplift Luna Preparatory Museum School (Primary School) upliftluna.org 2020 N Lamar Irving, TX 75202 214-442-7882
Uplift Luna Preparatory Museum School (Secondary School) upliftluna.org 2625 Elm Street Dallas, TX 75226 214-445-3300

Washington

Raisbeck Aviation High School rahs.highlineschools.org 9229 East Marginal Wy South Tukwila, WA 98108 206-631-7200

Washington D.C.

Brent Elementary School brentelementary.org 301 North Carolina Ave SE Washington D.C. 20003 202-698-3363

Have an edit or addition to this directory?
Please contact NAMS Executive Director Katherine Kelbaugh at katherine.kelbaugh@nationalmuseumschools.org.